ADVERTISEMENT

new york misery

djhorse85

Gold Member
Oct 3, 2010
(This post is to vent)I am a huge fan of everything New York especially when it comes to basketball. This is such a depressing year for the Knicks but I thought the redstorm would be enough to quench this urge for success in the mecca. The loss at depaul was unfortunate, and I really saw pain in the eyes of the seniors and coaching staff at the end of the game; pure emotion. But my major isssue is that we lose soo many recruits in our own state why are players afraid to stay grounded and rep NYC. It will be the ultimate reward to put this city on their back, the last johnnies to do it is still remembered in the city til this day (Mark, Mullin etc). Imagine if Govan and Diallo decided to commit you add those two with obekpa, isiah whitehead, and Carrington than this is a formidable place to be. But instead one goes to Georgetown and the other probably Kentucky, and the rest to Seton Hall. I respect the aforementioned Universities but the reward seems to be minimal. Among the the top this year is diallo and Govan; Diallo is likely to mixed in with a bevy of other big men once Calipari is finished recruiting and govan will no doubt become another good Georgetown big man at best(Goergetown Cliche). But the first team or player to get the redstorm back to the elite eight or final four will be remembered for decades in this city. We still cheer for Felipe Lopez and we know how his NBA career went. Why not stay? Is it the coaching staff, the University, or the inability of new york to produce players who are nonconformist and love this city?

This post was edited on 1/18 5:55 PM by djhorse85

This post was edited on 1/22 12:01 AM by djhorse85